Random and inconsequential thoughts, quotes…

A friend sent me this pithy quote when I was stressing about my son.

Photo credit - lushvalley.com

Photo credit – lushvalley.com

I think she wanted me to put it all in perspective, and I did. Salinger was probably being sexist and paternalistic, yet I tend to agree with him…a little.

Another friend told me: “You’re only as happy as your saddest child”. ย I thought about this poignant quote. It’s probably very true, but a little worrying as my teenage daughter is a HUGE drama queen and if my moods sync with hers, I’m in big trouble…

Another friend sent me this:

Photo credit to: getdp.net
Photo credit to: getdp.net

…and I laughed. She sent it because I love chickens and because it’s funny, (and a bit deep and existential).

I got to thinking about clever quotes and I must say, Oscar Wilde is my all time favouriteย quoter, I think he’s my favourite because, what he said more than 150 years ago, is still witty and relevant today.

So I’ll finish this post with a Wilde quote. It’s on a magnet on my fridge and it sums up a certain bravado, aย chutzpah, I admire: “Life is too important to be taken seriously.”

Do you have a favourite quote, a philosophical thought that resonates?

Linking up today with Essentially Jess for IBOT.

16 thoughts on “Random and inconsequential thoughts, quotes…

  1. Haha, it’s good to meet another Wilde fan! I also love, “There’s only one thing worse…than being talked about and that’s not being talked about.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yes its true all mothers are slightly insane because their bloody kids make them that way! As far as my favorite quotes go you can’t beat my all time girl crush Mae West. “Its not the men in my life that count. Its the life in my men”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I like the quote about the mother only being as happy as her saddest child, while not strictly true us mums do worry about our kids! And the chicken funny is one of my favourites … anything that brings a smile to my face is a winner with me!

    Visiting from #teamIBOT xxx

  4. I love reading good quotes, I don’t have a favourite but I seem to come across a few from Audrey Hepburn which always surprise me. I often quote, “don’t let the great be the enemy of the good” when I’m procrastinating about something and a good one I heard recently was, “life is about using the whole box of crayons”.

  5. I do love quotes! While growing up I had a bunch of them on a cork board to help me get through tough times. One of my favourites is “While no one can go back and make a brand new beginning, anyone can start now and make a brand new ending” or something like that. I have no idea where I found it but it has stuck with me over the years…

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

