Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure (not trash).

When I saw the title of this week’s photo challenge and began thinking about treasure, the old adage “Someone’s trash is another’s treasure” sprang to mind. The concept of treasure is an individual one. It’s a different thing for everyone…it’s what’s precious to you. Gold figures largely in our historical view of treasure. The Three Wise Men brought treasure in the form of gold, Frankenstein frankincense and mirth myrrh. A gold ring was Gollum’s treasure, whereas pirates preferred a chest dripping with golden jewels. And the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow…a mere temptation of treasure, an illusion. Robert Frost spoke of gold’s elusive power in “Nothing gold can stay.”

Looking at the wonderful diverse photos of treasures this week, it occurs to me that treasure isn’t remotely connected to its monetary value. On the contrary, a treasure seems to be a token – a symbol of a thought or experience, a feeling…a memento in a run-of-the-mill day or week, year. It’s something – often materially small and insignificant – that we put away in a safe place, to look at from time to time. To keep till we’re old and grey.

With this in mind, this is my treasure, my gold – newly acquired, already precious: IMG_0640 This was a gift from Poppet on Valentine’s Day. As the cover suggests, it’s a booklet of coupons, each promising a treat (breakfast in bed, foot massage etc). One coupon stands out because I know this will cost Poppet a lot of effort. She’s not a big reader, especially of the classics…or anything older than five years (and she has the misfortune to have an English teacher for a mother). 🙂 IMG_0644 I was a bit mean to Poppet recently. I told her my Year 10 class had requested to read ‘Pride and Prejudice’; I sang their praises – even tweeted about it!

https://twitter.com/Lee_AnneWalker/status/433099617954058240

She must have been listening…

What is your treasure? Is it an old letter, a diary…a trinket from an ex-lover, a photo, an heirloom. Maybe it’s a shell that triggers a memory of summers past, or a book from childhood. I’d love to hear about it.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure (not trash).

    • I’m so sorry to break the news to you. I hope there are no hard feelings. 🙂 I tried to hang on to those treasures but due to a vindictive ex-husband I lost most of them as well as a lot of other stuff. I have the memories though and to me that’s better than nothing. Just goes to show you that life does not always go as we planned.

      • Not at all, Jackie! Sorry to hear about your vindictive ex, that must have been hard, (but memories are the best treasures…no one can steal those) 🙂

  1. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge – Treasure – Velo, Velo |

  2. Pingback: Treasures from the past | Shaking the tree

  3. Thanks, Deb…a lot of heavy sighing and eye-rolling goes on in one’s relationship with teenagers, so it comes as a delightful surprise when they’re thoughtful and sweet. 🙂

  4. Le-Anne! Do you teach at an all girls’ school? If you do I am extremely jealous. My dream is to teach Romantic literature to a sedate class of Bronte/Austen/Wordsworth/Keats/Coleridge/Byron aficionados.

    • The only time I taught at an all girls’ school was as a prac student/teacher and interestingly, the girls were not all Romantic literature-loving angels (as I recall, there were a few delinquents…I mean ‘behaviourally challenged’ angels 😀

      Year 10 requesting to study ‘Pride and Prejudice’ isn’t as impressive as it sounds because I’ve insisted on studying nineteenth century fiction and they HATE ‘Jane Eyre’. They’ve heard a lot about ‘P and P’ and think it will be easier, but nineteenth century is never easy…it’s those long, clause-filled sentences and no in-your-face action!

  5. Wow – a complete leather bound collection of Dickens is an amazing treasure, in every sense of the word. I would suggest Dickens to my students but find Dickens even more challenging for them than Austen or the Brontes – the myriad of characters and multiple subplots really confuses them, even the very bright ones (unlike us Pinky. “In my day…”) 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

