Weekly Photo Challenge: A different kind of family.

I took this photo yesterday of Poppet and Small.

Izzy and Daisy

The photo challenge ‘family’ probably meant family as in mothers and fathers, children, husbands and wives, siblings, grandparents, aunts and uncles… But perhaps not. Lots of things constitute family, after all. I define ‘family’ as anyone I love, without necessarily a biological or marital connection at all. One of my closest friends has no family as such. He lives alone in an apartment, with his dog. His dog has his own bedroom, his own bed. My friend’s dog is his family and his friend, rolled into one.

So this is Poppet holding Small, a big part of our family. Small isn’t smiling, as she usually does because she is old and frail. The photo disguises it well, but Small is tired and sick and nearing the end of her long, much-much loved life.

Linking up with Weekly Photo Challenge – Family.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: A different kind of family.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Family (The decisive Moment?) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Family | Highlights and Shadows

  3. Oh no! She is just beautiful!! I’m so sorry to hear she is not well 😦
    Dogs are a huge part of the family aren’t they? Mine has been so clingy since Boatman went away. She has got so protective of me. Makes me love her even more 🙂

    • The problem is, dogs don’t know they’re dogs – they think they’re human! And whenever a member of their pack goes away, they fret. All will be restored as soon as Boatman comes back. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Family | Joe's Musings

  5. What an adorable photo. Of course pets are part of our families. I’m actually sharing pics of our cockatiel on my blog tomorrow for Wordless Wednesday, as a tribute, as he died a couple of weeks ago. Still shedding the occasional tear and feeling a bit embarrassed when I confess to others that I am crying about the loss of my pet – not a dog. Not a cat. A bird!!!!

  6. I can well relate, Janet as I cried over a hen that had to be euthanased recently (egg-bound and couldn’t walk). It’s traumatising losing pets! Will check out your pics tomorrow. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Family | The Panama Adventure

  8. Pingback: When A Little Dab of Color Will Do Ya | I see beauty all around by rob paine

  9. Many hugs and kisses to darling Small. If only every human would consider their non-human companions as family. They keep us strong and alive when everything else has failed, they are our soulmates. Peace and strength in these difficult times.

  10. Poor little Small. My animals mean so much to me I can’t imagine what I’d do without them. They don’t care what you look like, are always thrilled to see you and are grateful for everything you give them, even if it’s just a crumb of toast after they’ve sat waiting patiently for you to finish it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

